Mainstream Living

Human Resources

Marcanne Lynch

What brought you to Mainstream?
I applied at Mainstream in 1986 during the first week of my senior year in college. I worked part-time doing overnights and morning short-shifts and planned to move to Colorado after graduation.  But once I had that degree in hand, I interviewed and offered a position as a House Manager at Del Matro. 

How did you get into HR?
I worked in the residential areas for 20 years in both the HCBS and Mental Health programs.  In 1986, I delved into the Human Resources side of things.  There was not really an "HR Department" until a few years ago. Over the past 5 years the Human Resources Department has developed into a specialized group of personnel focused on Recruitment, Retention and Employee Relations.  (Emphasis on the 'relations' part!) My vision of Human Resources to work with my staff to identify creative recruitment strategies in this time of low unemployment; ensure that new employees have a positive and seamless entry to our agency; and provide the support to supervisors so that new and existing staff are excited to work with our members and improve the quality of their lives every single day.  

What are your biggest priorities?
1. Seamless onboarding
2. Retention of ee (new and existing)
3. Evaluate effectiveness of current training

How do you spend your time outside of work?
Outside of work, I am generally with family.  I have five children ranging from 6-29, three of whom live with me along with my partner, James, and our newest addition, granddaughter Karalyne.  And mustn't forget the 2 chihuahuas and Maddie the hounddog.  

Favorite color: midnight purple

Favorite food: cookies

Favorite song or music: Niel Young or Gordon Lightfoot pretty much anything 70's

New Year's Intention(s) for 2020: Play it forward. People have been very good to us in 2019. 

 

Abby Day

How did you get into HR? 
The recruiting position for Mainstream Living was my first HR job. I was told about the position from my neighbor. After visiting the company, I was impressed with the mission and values. I've loved being a part of this company and the HR team for the past six years.

What are your biggest priorities?
It is hard to summarize my priorities, but I'd say supervising Jess, Brenda and Stephanie and assisting with employee relations.

How do you spend your time outside of work?  
I spend most of my time outside of work with family, and extended family. My husband and I have a two year old daughter. I am really close with my parents, and siblings and their families. I also love to travel and work on craft projects. 

Favorite color: Purple

Favorite food: Steak and hashbrowns, or Mexican food. 

Favorite song or music: Country

New Year's Intention(s) for 2020: Be less busy. Cut out some "extras" and focus on family

 

Brenda Bacon

What brought you to Mainstream? 
My friend referred me to Mainstream. She was the office manager at the time.

How did you get into HR? 
I started as a receptionist,  then office manager. I started helping our HR and it just progressed.

What are your biggest priorities?
The functions that are my priority are the background check process and new hire process, training tracking, making sure that we are in compliance, and performance reviews.

How do you spend your time outside of work? 
I like to camp, fish, read, and spend time with my family.

Favorite color: Green and Yellow

Favorite food: Beef and Noodles

Favorite song or music: I like a little of everything. I listen to contemporary christian and country music the most.

New Year's Intention(s) for 2020: It's hard to think about it being 2020 already! I would like to get healthier.

 

Jess Lundquist

What brought you to Mainstream?
Someone who used to work here, of course! I was making a living between a small business and a handful of part-time jobs. She told me her organization was hiring for a recruiter, and she said it might be a good fit based on my interests and abilities. It’s a year and a half later, and I love it!

How did you get into HR?
By total accident. My love of connecting with people and sharing ideas and resources made the HR Recruiter role a really good fit. 

What are your biggest priorities?
Processing applications, engaging with the community for new applicants, maintaining communication with candidates and hiring managers, and providing onboarding training for new hires.

How do you spend your time outside of work?
I love finding ways to spend time with my friends and family. Movies, especially at Fleur Cinema. Yoga and other exercise and walks at Gray’s Lake. 

Favorite color: Green.

Favorite food: Thai food, especially curry.

Favorite song or music: Favorite genres are folk and Americana, but music is a really big part of my life, and I love a lot of it, from bluegrass to jazz to singer-songwriter!

New Year's Intention(s) for 2020:  Read more, create more experiences, and share more stories.
 

Stephanie Livingston

What brought you to Mainstream?
I was drawn to Mainstream by the work they do and by the longevity of the Executive Management Team.

How did you get into HR?
I fell in love with Mainstream when I came to work here in 2016. I took a short break  to do real estate in 2018 and missed Mainstream so much I had to come back. I was blessed with the opportunity to join the HR team in 2019 and love every minute of it. 

What are your biggest priorities?
Within my role on Mainstream’s HR team, I assist in recruiting, developing and retaining the best staff possible to execute Mainstream’s vision. Although I have a wide variety of job duties, currently, my three biggest priorities are: 1. Offering training support to new hires.  2. Positive focus on retention activities. 3. Prioritizing Mainstream’s mission to enhance opportunities, create success and fulfill dreams.

How do you spend your time outside of work?
My husband, his daughter and I have two labrador retrievers and we love taking them for walks off leash. We also enjoy watching movies together or binge watching the latest show on Netflix.  I love to read books that are suspenseful and have a good plot twist.

Favorite color: Blush pink

Favorite food: Mexican food and margaritas

Favorite song or music: I like all kinds of music and what I listen to often depends on what I am doing. 

New Year's Intention(s) for 2020: Get a passport and do more activities with friends.

© 2020 Mainstream Living, Inc.