Mainstream Living

Andrea Hernandez

What brought you to Mainstream Living?

I was working at Suncoast in the mall and saw a guy I went to highschool with come in with a  member.  I asked what agency he was with and he filled me in on Mainstream.  This was in 1999  and I started out as part time before doing overnights and 24 hour shifts.  I worked for Mainstream until 2010 then moved to Minnesota for two years.  When we returned to Ames, I came back to Mainstream and was asked to come to the center!  I love the pace of a day at the center. 

What is your favorite thing about work?  

I always say there definitely worse things than going to work and getting hugged or being told someone likes to be around you.  I like how you are able to move between the different programs and work with so many different people, both members and staff.

How do you spend your time outside of work?

I have three kids that keep me pretty busy. Because of my job at the Center, I often come across activities that I can do with my kids on weekends. I also spend a lot of time working on home improvement projects as we live in a 100 year old home, but my motivation for these comes and goes.  When I have time, I love to read. 

What is something employees may not know about you?

I absolutely cannot stand glitter...or really any crafts at all. 

Favorite Color: blue
Favorite Food: Chinese, sushi, or a good burger
Favorite Music: I really like anything.  Oldies, Classic Rock, 80's, 90's, (Some) current stuff.  I really like Tom Petty.  I love Bob Dylan and Guns N Roses.

© 2020 Mainstream Living, Inc.